In the desert…

“Only one life, ’twill soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last.”

Wow. Well, okay.

By now you all know how horrible we are at keeping up with this blog.  I do think of it from time to time, but life just kinda, well, doesn’t stop. Having 3 kids in major training phases means that things like blogging or emailing or thinking just get pushed right to the bottom of the list.  Today the little punks are all still sleeping so I thought I’d update.  Here goes.

We had our 2nd followup sonogram on Monday to check on the size of the baby’s gallbladder.  Previously her stomach and gallbladder were both enlarged…then the stomach went back down to normal and the gallbladder got bigger….and now, the gallbladder is back to almost normal!  The doctor said that it’s only slightly above the normal range so it’s probably just a developmental variant and she thinks she’s fine.  Praise God!  I will be 33 weeks tomorrow…and I feel like it.

I will be 30 in a month from today.  30 and pregnant.  ‘Nuff said.

Eric preached his second sunday sermon on Dec 27th (here’s the link if you want to listen: http://www.gracecommunity.org/index.php?pID=37)  The pastors will decide on whether or not he can apply to the Pastors College after his final interview tonight.  A little nerve-wracking, but I think we both are trusting in the Lords timing and will be excited either way to see where He will lead us.  We are thankful that our pastors have taken the time to really serve Eric through this whole process of evaluation the last few years and have sought to help him (and us!) to grow in love and knowledge of the Lord.

Christmas and New Years were wonderful and it was great to see family that we normally don’t see that often.  The kids were totally spoiled by the grandparents, but that’s what their job is, so it’s okay.  Definitely looking forward to getting back into a routine next week with homeschool and whatnot.  Not having a normal routine is starting to drive me crazy.  Of course, this will all change in a little over a month once the baby comes, so….yeah.

Took the kids to the eye doctor because 1. My mom has been asking for a long time (she works there) and 2. Ezra started squinting randomly.  We thought we might as well just take Ezra and Keely just to check things out and make sure they’re a-okay.  Welp, not so much.  Ezra might need glasses next year (his eyes are both astigmatic and have some refraction issues, but they’re pretty balanced with each other so it’s not totally necessary yet), and Keely has to get glasses.   Her eyes were pretty bad with one eye amblyopic (lazy eye, though you would NEVER be able to tell by looking at her) and both eyes astigmatic.  My poor girl.  Doc said that she would probably need glasses (and perhaps patching early on) until she is 10!  Praise God that we noticed Ezra squinting and decided to take them because we really didn’t notice anything else and probably wouldn’t have taken them for awhile.

Lila is crazy.  I love her and she’s adorable and joyful and sleeps well and all those other things that really do make life easier for a toddler.  But she’s crazy.  Pray for us!

Book resolution update:

Neither of us made it to 52 books.  I’m not even sure how many exactly.  I think I was in the low 30’s, that’s about it.  The sidebar hasn’t been updated for a good long while and I’m not going to bother updating it now.  But, all in all, I read more books in 2009 than I have in a long while (probably since I was in high school!) and I KNOW Eric read more books in 2009 than he has in any year of his life, so it worked out!  We both are planning on trying to hit 52 again this year, so we’ll see.  I am able to read more when I have a nursing baby in the middle of the night, so that should help the quota.

Baby Lucy (our niece) was born 2 days after Thanksgiving and she’s extremely adorable.  We love her and are excited for her to be in our family!  Ryan and Janet have been blessed!

Pete & Naomi had their baby boy on Christmas morning!  Israel Josiah…he’s adorable and blond and yummy 🙂 So now when we hang out with them we’ll have an Ez and an Is.  Good times ahead.  I’m sure they’ll love that.

I wish I had pictures to show you babies and other random times since this hasn’t been updated since the summer….but alas, we haven’t even dumped them from the camera to the computer.  See how behind we are?

Kids are no longer sleeping so, I’m out.  Thanks for reading!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Wow. Well, okay.

  1. I still say that “Ez & Iz” sounds like it would be an awesome sitcom. It would probably be based in NYC, where somehow the boys are able to afford a $8,000/mo. apartment while working at a cafe and delivering newspapers.

  2. janet price on said:

    you’re welcome.

  3. Hey there! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

  4. This is a good tip particularly to those new to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very precise info… Many thanks for
    sharing this one. A must read article!

  5. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also go to see this website on regular basis to get updated from most up-to-date gossip.

Leave a Reply

