In the desert…

“Only one life, ’twill soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last.”

Plenty.

So, I just finished another book to add to my New Years Resolution list.  Yes, its taken me awhile to finish this book…but wifely duties and a good bout of the stomach flu will thwart anyones good intentions to read.  Anywho, the book is called “Plenty… One man, One Woman and a Raucous Year of Eating Locally” by Alisa Smith & J.B. MacKinnon.  Disclaimer:  I am already half obsessed with food and wanting to make all different kinds of foods organic, sustainable and local (though my living situation and budget do not allow it at this time!), so I might be a little biased.

Basically it’s a book about this couple who decide to eat only things that are locally cultivated within 100 miles of their Vancouver, BC home because of varying factors that I need not go into now.  Its very well written, humorous at times, inspiring (to those food types who are prone to question foods origins etc), and not preachy.  Very environmental-hippie-but-not-wanting-to-be-hippie kind of book.  I must say that it can be a little arduous  to get through some of the geographic explanations and histories at times, but I think part of that is because I know nothing about Canada or the Pacific Northwest in general.  The second half of the book was a fly-through.  I also liked how even though it talks some about evolution, that it gave me more of a sense of the beauty of God’s creation and provision for us.  Anyway, there you have it.  Recommended.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Plenty.

  1. Yay for Canadian foodies!

Leave a Reply

