In the desert…

“Only one life, ’twill soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last.”

books.

Yep, this post is about books.  (don’t you love how I have such creative titles of posts?  LAME.) I love books.  I grew up being the nerdy bookworm chick.  Especially in the summer.  I would read about 1 to 2 books a week in those wonderful lazy days of summer before you actually have any real responsibility.  Now, to be honest, the books I was reading I wouldn’t always endorse now being that a lot of them were mysteries and probably contained things that are questionable.  (Not always–also liked biographies, non-fiction etc. ) Unfortunately I wasn’t one to want to read the books that teachers wanted you to read–the “classics.”  Mainly out of rebellion, but that’s a different post.  Anyway, as I don’t have a lot of time to read, I usually have at least one book of the non-fiction Christian type that I go through a LOT slower so that I can try to apply God’s truth to my life.  It doesn’t always leave much room for reading that is enjoyable.  Not that the ones that stir me spiritually aren’t enjoyable, it’s just a different joy.  Maybe entertaining is more like it.  Anyway, you get the point.  So, the last two years I’ve made it a priority to read at least 3 or 4 books a year that are novels or biographies.  I know this doesn’t seem like such a great feat, but at this season in my life it’s just more practical to say 3 or 4 than 15 or 20.  This does not include the random books I get out of the library about cooking, organizing, crochet, sewing, preserving food (yeah, i’m a geek), or anything else practical.  Those will always be on my table regardless.  So, they can be Christian or not, but they can’t be of the “self-help” variety (for lack of a better, clearer term!).  Over this last year and a half I’ve read in this category: “Safely Home” by Randy Alcorn;  “Jane Eyre” by Bronte; something about Ireland (I totally forget what it’s called, but it was good!); a book on Theodore Roosevelt; half of “A Reason for God” by Tim Keller (I let someone borrow it for evangelistic purposes); and “The Hiding Place” by Corrie ten Boom.   Now, I need to be careful with how often I read these types of books because I get really caught up and can tend to desire to read them over the Bible and the other Christian books.  I am 50 pages away from finishing “The Hiding Place” and I’m already looking for a new book, so you can see how easy it is for me to devour books and at times probably shirking my responsibilities or, more often, staying up too late so I can finish “just one more” chapter.

With all of that nonsense said, I am looking for a new book to start in the next couple of weeks to read since I know that once the “holiday season” is upon us I won’t have ANY time for fun reading.  🙂  I’m thinking a biography, but I guess it depends on whom.  So what I’m asking is:  What are your top 5 favorite or most impacting books of the aforementioned category?  Suggestions are extremely helpful because then I know it’s not trash!  🙂 Post away on the comments section or on your own blogs!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “books.

  1. I don’t have a favorite biography per se.
    BUT, I have a favorite genre of biographies: Missionary Biographies.

    They remind me of how big God is (as if I could really imagine such a thing!). They remind me that God is at work in so many areas of the world.

    They remind me of the little ways God answers prayers and how miraculous they really are. (Like in The Hiding Place with the vitamin drops. They didn’t run out until a new bottle was given.)

    They remind me to pray and ask God for things. No matter how silly they may seem. In the biography of Esther Ahn Kim (Korean woman who was in Chinese jails, I believe), she was imprisioned and really wanted an apple. She started praying for an apple. Unexpectedly, she was given a bushel of apples! Except, they were rotten. She felt like it was a cruel gift. Until she realized that she never would have been able to eat a ripe apple. Her teeth had fallen out because of poor nutrition. So, she could eat this apple, and have so many to share!

    Another story (ask T or DeAnn the name…) was about a woman in Puapa New Guinea (I think??). She prayed for a banana, but was given a bunch of them.

    One time, a flight was late getting in, and we were waiting for our baggage. I was so hungry. And I suddenly had a craving for an apple. So, I prayed out loud: “Lord, I would really like an apple. It would be perfect.” A woman heard me. She said, “I have an apple.” It was the most perfect apple. Larger than any one I’ve ever had or seen.

    Sounds silly, but it reminds me to pray for the little things in life. I had the faith to pray for an apple beause of the stories I have read.

    The faith of others stirs my faith.

  2. tracy smith on said:

    Top Favorite Biography:
    Evidence Unseen – the one Michele mentioned about the bananas. lol. An incredible story but what I loved especially about it was that it was packed with great theology – great theology that this woman lived out, practically, in difficult circumstances.
    – Next would be “The Swans are Not Silent” series by John Piper, and specifically “The Roots of Endurance.” I like that Piper doesn’t “glorify” these men, but shares honestly what we can learn and glean from their strengths and weaknesses.
    – A non-Christian book that I have especially enjoyed is called “Beautiful Boy” and it’s the story of a father’s struggle with his son’s drug addition. It was an eye opener for me – and gave me a better heart/understanding for this serious addiction that so many are in bondage to. I also like reading books by non-believers on “life’s issues” b/c it keeps me attune and freshly appreciative for Christ!

  3. beyondtheoutside on said:

    The Secret Life Of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
    It’s been my favorite book for a year. It’s a novel and I have had 3 people borrow it from me in the past 3 months because I talk it up. You should read it.

  4. beyondtheoutside on said:

    Oh, Angela’s Ashes, a memoir, is also a great read. It’s by Frank McCourt.

Leave a Reply

