In the desert…

“Only one life, ’twill soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last.”

Bread. And no, I’m not talking about the band.

Bread.  I love it.  I love the smell of fresh baked bread and a nice warm roll with dinner.  Unfortunately it usually takes a lot of time to make–especially when you aren’t an expert, such as myself.  I do not have  a lot of time due to the fact that I have 3 kids under 3 now.  The kneading, while therapeutic, is just not in the time budget right now.  Enter in this book:  Artisan Bread In Five Minutes A Day.

“What? Five Minutes a Day?”  Yes.  Well, sort of.  Basically you make a batch of dough that literally does take 5 minutes to make, let it rise for a couple hours and then stick it in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.  No kneading, no punching it down and letting it rise again, nothing.  When you want bread for the day, you grab a hunk from the bowl, let it sit for 40 minutes and then put it in the oven.  That’s it.  Seriously.

I borrowed this book from the library, but I’m going to have to buy it.  It has a million recipes in it, and really, who doesn’t like fresh baked bread?  I’ll tell you who–no one.

This post is dedicated to Sarah.  Why?  Because she’s an awesome cook and baker, loves a good shortcut, and well, because I can.

(Btw, I do enjoy the band Bread too….I think I’m gonna bust out the Bread Anthology cd tonight.  you’re jealous, i know!)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Bread. And no, I’m not talking about the band.

  1. Now that sounds VERY cool. Thanks for the tip…I’ll investiate the book!

    I miss you. 😦

  2. Thanks so much for mentioning our book. I’m Jeff Hertzberg, one of the co-authors of Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. I’m so glad our recipes are working well for you. Come visit us anytime at http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com, where you can post questions into any “Comments” field, or click on “Bread Questions” on the left side of the homepage and choose among the options. I too am talking about bread the food, not Bread the band, but here goes:

    “…I would give anything I own,
    Give up me life, my heart, my home.
    I would give everything I own…”

    … just to have fresh-baked bread every day for the rest of my life.”
    Jeff Hertzberg
    http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com

    Chicago tribune video: http://us.macmillan.com/BookCustomPage.aspx?isbn=9780312362911&m_type=2&m_contentid=119255#video

Leave a Reply

