In the desert…

“Only one life, ’twill soon be past, only what’s done for Christ will last.”

Thoughts?

Hey everyone, this is kind of a real post.  Well, it is a real post, but it’s mostly just a few links that I wanted to post to get your thoughts.  It’s the ever-debatable section of 1Corinthians 11:2-16 regarding headcoverings.

2Now I commend you(A) because you remember me in everything and(B) maintain the traditions(C) even as I delivered them to you. 3But I want you to understand that(D) the head of every man is Christ,(E) the head of a wife[a] is her husband, and(F) the head of Christ is God. 4Every man who prays or prophesies with his head covered dishonors his head, 5but every wife[b] who prays or(G) prophesies(H) with her head uncovered dishonors her head, since it is the same(I) as if her head were shaven. 6For if a wife will not cover her head, then she should cut her hair short. But since it is disgraceful for a wife to cut off her hair or shave her head, let her cover her head. 7For a man ought not to cover his head, since(J) he is the image and glory of God, but(K) woman is the glory of man. 8For(L) man was not made from woman, but woman from man. 9Neither was man created for woman, but(M) woman for man. 10That is why a wife ought to have a symbol of authority on her head, because of the angels.[c] 11Nevertheless,(N) in the Lord woman is not independent of man nor man of woman; 12for as woman was made from man, so man is now born of woman. And(O) all things are from God. 13Judge for yourselves: is it proper for a wife to pray to God with her head uncovered? 14Does not nature itself teach you that if a man wears long hair it is a disgrace for him, 15but if a woman has long hair, it is her glory? For her hair is given to her for a covering. 16(P) If anyone is inclined to be contentious, we have no such practice, nor do(Q) the churches of God.

Please read and comment if you wish.

Just for a backround on why I’m bringing this up: Mainly because I’ve been “wrestling” (in quotes because I haven’t always wrestled with it, just ignored it at times!) with this passage and have been wanting to make a decision based on scripture, not on the culture or influenced by people that I know have best intentions on serving me (on both sides of the argument).  I remember asking a couple of men about it when I was a brand-spankin’-new believer and they both dismissed it saying it was a cultural thing.  Not knowing what I was doing or even how to study the bible, I just went along with their counsel and didn’t think a thing about it.  Recently my friend Naomi has begun wearing head coverings to church (her blog link to follow) and I was newly inspired to research the passage.  Regardless of my views at this point, while I think this scripture is difficult, I also believe that God is sovereign in when the Holy Spirit brings illumination to specific difficult passages of scripture.  When that illumination comes and we see clearly the purpose and intent of the passage, we do have a responsibility in either obeying it or disobeying it.  I would (try) and never condemn anyone for their choice to wear a covering or not wear a covering based on their lack of scriptural knowledge or ignorance.  (ie., if someone is a Christian and has never even read one of these difficult passages–not limited to headcoverings obviously, we would want to show grace and not call them out on a sin in which they didn’t even know existed!)  Anyway, you get my point.  This is not meant to bring factions to the church or to be dissentious.  Thought provoking and causing us to seek God in His Word, yes.  Just wanted to throw that out there since there are many passages in the bible that we think are “debatable” and all of us are inclined to get wrapped up in a ‘who-is-right’ battle instead of showing grace and love to a fellow sinner.  The bible wasn’t written to bring chaos!

Right.

So, without further ado, here are the links:

http://fantasticague.blogspot.com/2008/03/we-have-no-other-practice.html

http://www.puritanfellowship.com/2007/10/why-head-coverings-are-for-today.html

http://www.ovc.edu/terry/articles/headcovr.htm

http://www.entrewave.com/view/reformedonline/Headcoverings%20in%20Public%20Worship2.htm

(Michelle, I know you’ll love this!) 🙂

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Thoughts?

  1. LOL.
    I was totally like — I’m gonna have to research this one!
    And does a baseball cap count if I decide I should cover my head?

  2. asprice on said:

    haha, i knew you would like it!

  3. Okay. I have been thinking about it.
    Haven’t reached the point of study yet.
    But just printed off some stuff.
    That means study is coming closer.

    At this point, I know that I need to study it. I’m convinced at that. Mostly convinced that I need to at least study it because I don’t want to. I don’t want to cover my head. And I’m aggitated that scripture might command me to. So, my rebelliousness (FLESH!) does not even want to look into it. If I’m not convicted, then I don’t have to do it right?!?

    Thankfully, the Spirit is at work in me, and I recognize that I need to at least consider it.

    As I have tried to argue with myself, I realized two things.

    1. If I don’t consider Scripture on this topic and only look at cultural “norms,” I’ll be even more of a hypocrite then I already am. I’ll be doing the very thing others do to justify watching a certain movie that has explicit nudity and sex. I’ll use excuses like “freedom in Christ” to justify unhealthy/sinful behavior.

    2. I am going to need to talk this out with someone, i.e. you. So, seems like we are going to have to have dinner/coffee sometime.

  4. i’m in. glad you’re studying it, I’m with you. I have thoughts, but nothing is concrete yet and I’d like help with them……..panera here we come! 🙂

  5. Al or Fox or T… if you are reading this… I know you have thoughts!

  6. allyson on said:

    yeah… i did read most of the stuff you linked to and it hurt my head to try to really understand the verses and the different interpretations. i guess i am sort of trusting that if there was something to it, more leaders would be pointing it out? i know we should study/think for ourselves, but i guess on certain topics i am too lazy to do the work

  7. Pete on said:

    Eric, I saw your post and thought you might be interested in Joshua Harris’ message given at Covenant Life Church 9/2/2007 entitled “Men, Women and Headgear” If you have some time to spare, I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

